Strawberry Cupcakes

Here’s to the unofficial start of summer.  I’ve been wanting to try these cupcakes I saw at Good Things Catered.  I figured a Memorial Day BBQ would be the perfect opportunity.  They were a hit at my friend’s party!

Angie’s Famous Strawberry Cupcakes

Ingredients:
2 1/2 c. cake flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c. unsalted butter
1 1/2 c. sugar (or a little less)
2 eggs
1/3 c. buttermilk
1/4 c. oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 c. chopped strawberries

1/4 c. strawberries
1 Tbsp. strawberry liquor
1/2 tsp lemon juice
8 oz. cream cheese, room temp
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp
1 3/4 c. powdered sugar
1/2 Tbsp vanilla

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare 2 cupcake pans.
-Sift flour, salt, and baking soda in medium bowl.
-In bowl of mixer, cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
-Add eggs one at a time until combined.
-Add buttermilk, oil and vanilla until combined.
-Add flour mixture and stir until just combined.
-Fold in berries.
-Fill cupcake pans 3/4 way.
-Bake for 20 minutes.
-For frosting, put berries, liquor, and juice in saucepan.
-Bring to a boil over medium heat and then reduce to a simmer for 5 mins.
-Let cool then blend until smooth.
-In bowl of mixer mix cream cheese and butter until creamy.
-Add sugar, then vanilla.
-Add berry puree until smooth.
-Frost cupcakes when they are completely cooled.

NOTE:  I used vanilla buttercream instead of the strawberry icing.  I made the stars out of Wilton colorflow icing. 

7 Responses to “Strawberry Cupcakes”


  1. 1 zebe912 May 26, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    PRETTY!!! Happy Memorial Day!

  2. 2 CB May 27, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Tres strawberry-licious chica! I starred to try these next time I get a strawberry itch 😉

  3. 3 katie102006 May 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Oh my gosh, I LOOOOVE the red icing with the color flow stars. DUH they were a hit, they look amazing! Nice job! 🙂

  4. 4 Alanna May 27, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    These sound incredible…I must try them!

  5. 5 mrsabybaby May 27, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    These look so good! I love all things strawberry. And they are so pretty! Putting those Wilton classes to good use I see. 🙂

  6. 6 Astra Libris June 6, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Gorgeous!! I’m in awe!!

  7. 7 Laan Penge nu Hurtig Penge Uden Sikkerhed - Get Individual Loan Money For All. March 12, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    I think this is among the most vital information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers


Leave a Reply

