Shrimp Scampi

Now that I’m into shrimp, I’ve been looking for some tasty ways to make it.  I came across this recipe on a few blogs from Gourmet and decided to adapt it.  I can’t use a lot of butter in my cooking (due to lactose issues) so I have to substitute.  Plus, I was super excited when I saw that Barilla Plus made angel hair!

Shrimp Scampi
adapted from Gourmet

Ingredients:
1/4 cup olive oil
1 lb peeled and deveined large (20-25) shrimp
4 large garlic cloves minced
1 pinch dried hot red-pepper flakes
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 Tbsp SmartBalance butter
3/4 lb angel-hair pasta (Barilla Plus)
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Directions:
-Bring a 6- to 8-quart pot of salted water to a boil.
-Meanwhile, heat oil in a 12-inch heavy skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then sauté shrimp, turning over once, until just cooked through, about 2 minutes, and transfer with a slotted spoon to a large bowl.
-Add garlic to oil remaining in skillet along with red pepper flakes, wine, salt, and pepper and cook over high heat, stirring occasionally, 1 minute.
-Add butter to skillet, one tablespoon at a time, alternating natural with smartbalance, stirring until melted, and stir in shrimp.
-Remove skillet from heat.
-Cook pasta in boiling water until just tender, about 3 minutes.
-Reserve 1 cup pasta-cooking water, then drain pasta in a colander.
-Toss pasta well with shrimp mixture and parsley in large bowl, adding some of reserved cooking water if necessary to keep moist.

7 Responses to “Shrimp Scampi”


  1. 1 mrsabybaby April 10, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    So was it good? Beech, put some reviews up in here! LOL T might like this.

  2. 2 Kat Graz April 10, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Looks good- R U coming to my house to make it????

  3. 3 CB April 10, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Shrimphs!! pasta! I lurve shrimphs! Definitely will star to make later…

  4. 4 zebe912 April 11, 2008 at 5:08 am

    I’ve been trying to find a recipe like this that I actually like. So far I don’t have one I love. I think it might be the wine I’m using too. Maybe this one will make me happier.

  5. 5 Andrea April 11, 2008 at 11:27 am

    April, Dawn and Clara – It was super good! I loved it, so did M. I would suggest putting the pasta in the bowl first and then pouring the shrimp and sauce on top so that the pasta soaks up more of the buttery-garlicy goodness!
    Kat, when’s good for you?

  6. 6 Katie April 13, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    We made this same recipe not too long ago. Sooooo good!

  7. 7 Katie April 13, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    We made this same recipe not too long ago. Sooooo good!


Leave a Reply

