DB Challenge #1 – French Bread

 

Well this month, I’m lucky to call myself a Daring Baker.  I was so excited to become a part of this group!  Then I got notice of my first challenge… Julia Child’s French Bread.  Well I would say this was a challenge indeed.  This was only my second time working with yeast.  I was extremely nervous!  And then I printed out the 14 page recipe and got a little more nervous.  (You can find there here). 

It went a lot better than I thought.  I knew it would all be ok when my little ball of dough came out of the mixer and was ready for its first rise.  It looked so smooth and perfect.

The first two rises went fine… took a little long, but were fine.  My friend, Nina hooked me up with some tips since my house was a little cold and the rises went off without a hitch.  When it came time to form the loaves, I got nervous again.  I didn’t have a canvas, but I used my Viking cooking class apron.  It worked out fine. 

Is that wine in the background?  Hmm, how did that get there?  Achem, anyway…they rose once again and were ready to be unmolded.  Yay for a pizza box hubs hadn’t brought out for recycling. 

One of these things is not like the other…can you tell which one I did first?  I can ;).  Into the oven those little puppies went.  I really wish I brushed them so they could be all goldilocks and whatnot, but I didn’t, so…they were albino, but still looking cute.

This is the part when I got really cocky and proud.  (and perhaps opened a bottle of wine…note the corkscrew and cork…hmm?)  My babies cooled before their photo shoot and then struck a mean pose:

So there you have it.  First challenge a success.  I learned I could do something I never thought I would do, and hey, that’s the whole point of Daring Bakers, right?  So thanks a bunch to Mary and Sara for pushing me to my baking limits!  I can’t wait to see what’s in store for March! 

Oh yeah, and check out all those other beautiful loaves on the Daring Baker’s Blogroll!

12 Responses to “DB Challenge #1 – French Bread”


  1. 1 nikki57 March 1, 2008 at 2:28 am

    w00t go A-nig! Your bread looks delish

  2. 2 CB March 1, 2008 at 5:00 am

    welcome newb! Your bread looks so fierce. Mine were albino pasty white too. LOL. Great job!

  3. 3 breadchick March 1, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Nice job on your first challenge!

    Thanks for baking with Sara and I

  4. 4 Sheltie Girl March 1, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Your loaves of French bread turned out beautifully. Congratulations on finishing your first DB challenge. Welcome to the group!

    Natalie @ Gluten A Go Go

  5. 5 Lucy V March 1, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    They look delicious!

  6. 6 maria~ March 1, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Welcome and as Christian would say, your breads look fierce!!! 😀

  7. 7 Lisa March 2, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Nice work Daring Baker!

  8. 8 Jaime March 2, 2008 at 3:04 am

    congrats on your 1st challenge completed! 🙂 i love how your loaves ‘struck a pose’ 😉

  9. 9 amorelli76 March 2, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Thanks so much for all the compliments, girls! I kind of love being a Daring Baker 🙂

  10. 10 JennyBakes March 2, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Lovely air pockets, those must be part of the pose….

  11. 11 Molly W. March 3, 2008 at 6:32 am

    You have some really nice looking bread, especially on the inside. Well done, and welcome to the daring bakers.

  12. 12 Ashely May 30, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger
    but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for newbie blog writers? I’d
    really appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

