Ravioli in Balsamic Brown Butter

While this recipe was definitely good, it looked better on TV. Giada (of course) made it on FN. I must not be used to consuming that much butter – I even cut it down from what was suggested! I loved the balsamic flavor more. The toasted walnuts and parmesan on top were winners! I might do it again, but use olive oil instead of butter. My arteries hurt after eating this one!

Ravioli in Balsamic Brown Butter
Recipe from Giada DeLaurentiis

18 to 20 ounces store-bought ravioli (cheese, mushroom, or squash)
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/3 cup toasted, chopped walnuts
1/4 cup grated Parmesan

*I halved everything bc I was only cooking for two – still a LOT of butter for me!

  • Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. A
  • dd the ravioli and cook 4 to 5 minutes, until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally. Drain ravioli onto a large serving platter.
  • Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan cook the butter over medium heat, stirring occasionally.
  • When the foam subsides, and the butter begins to turn a golden brown, about 3 minutes, turn off the heat. Let cool for about 1 minute.
  • Stir in the balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper.
  • Transfer the ravioli to the pan saucepan with the balsamic brown butter. Sprinkle walnuts and Parmesan over the top. Serve immediately.

1 Response to “Ravioli in Balsamic Brown Butter”


  1. 1 CB January 24, 2008 at 3:19 am

    I ♥ Giada! I starred your BU to try in my menu soon! 🙂


Leave a Reply

